Skip to main navigation.
Contact Us: 1.270.651.2191 or 1.800.253.2191

Farmers RECC Scholarship

Farmers RECC has established an annual scholarship program to assist in financing higher education for students whose families, or themselves, are cooperative members. The cooperative will give eight $1,000 scholarships annually as follows.

Three (3) Scholarships – Director District I (Barren & Edmonson Counties)

Two (2) Scholarships – Director District II (Hart, Grayson & Larue Counties)

Two (2) Scholarships – Director District III (Metcalfe, Green & Adair Counties)

One At-Large Scholarship


Scholarships can be used for tuition, fees, campus housing, textbooks, and other supplies directly related to the recipient’s education.

Scholarships are paid to the accredited college, university, technical college or trade school of the students’ choice.

Farmers RECC Scholarships are awarded without regard to race, creed, religion, gender, disability or national origin.

Farmers RECC scholarships were going to be awarded in a random drawing after the business meeting portion of the Farmers RECC Annual Meeting on July 9, 2020. However, due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic and the uncertainty surrounding the scheduling of future events, the Farmers RECC Board of Directors made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 Farmers RECC Annual Meeting that had previously been postponed.

Registration for the Farmers RECC Scholarship drawing be available on our website through October 31, 2020 with the scholarship drawing taking place at the November Board of Directors meeting on November 19, 2020. Recipients will be notified after that date, with scholarships awarded for the spring 2021 semester. Eligibility requirements and registration is available below.


  • Student or students’ parent or guardian must be a member of Farmers RECC at their principal place of residence.
  • Student must be entering into their freshman year or higher of post-secondary education, or pursuing a Master’s degree. Non-Traditional students are welcome as well.
  • Farmers RECC Scholarships are awarded without regard to race, creed, religion, gender, disability or national origin.


  • The student must be accompanied by their parent(s) or legal guardian(s) at the Annual Meeting. The parent or guardian must first register for the membership meeting and then accompany the applicant to the scholarship registration booth to register for the drawing.  Non-traditional students, age 21 or older, and who are themselves members of the cooperative are not subject to this requirement.
  • Student must be able to show proof of full-time enrollment and Student ID number at an accredited college, university, technical college or trade school. (i.e. Schedule, account balance at the university, etc.)
  • Students and their parents must be present during the drawings.
  • Farmers RECC Scholarships are one-time only awards. Previous winners may not apply.
  • Scholarship recipients must permit Farmers RECC to use their names, parents’ names, county of residence and photograph in the cooperative’s publications, including the local insert of the Kentucky Living magazine.
  • The funds will be disbursed directly to the institution the student will be attending.


  • The parent or guardian of the student, or the student themselves, must register for the membership meeting. At this point their address and membership will be validated.
  • They will bring their membership ticket to the scholarship registration table close to the member registration table.
  • They will complete the form and submit it in the receptacle noted for the district in which the student or their member parent resides. If students have parents who live in two districts and they divide their time equally between parents, they may only enter in one district. If they live primarily with one parent/guardian, the student must submit their form in the district where they spend the majority of their time.
  • They will be escorted to reserve seating near the stage and exit for when they are called up onto stage.
  • After the business meeting, scholarship eligible students will be asked to gather on stage while member prizes are announced.
  • Seven students’ names will be drawn and they will be held on stage for pictures and asked to visit the scholarship registration table for follow-up procedures.

If you have any questions about the Farmers RECC Scholarship, please contact Caralyne Pennington at 270-651-2191 ext. 8305 or

Farmers RECC Scholarship Pre-Registration

The following students were awarded Farmers RECC Scholarships during the 2019 Farmers RECC Annual Meeting. They were, in particular order: Murphy Faller, of Smiths Grove, daughter of Chris and Sheila Eaton; Laynie Smith, daughter of Kevin and Kristie Smith of Glasgow; Jaidyn Nicole Franklin, daughter of Tyrone Franklin and Charity Ford of Glasgow; Saylor Botts, daughter of Jason and Brandy Botts of Glasgow. Four additional recipients are pictured on page 36C.  Additional scholarship recipients were, in no particular order: Katelynn Bunnell, daughter of David and Deborah Bunnell of Horse Cave; Rance Miller, son of Jimmy and Angie Miller of Cub Run; Maggie O’Leary, daughter of Thomas and Lakettia O’Leary of Edmonton; and Brilyn Garrett, daughter of Brian and Susan Garrett of Edmonton.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo